Skip to content

Mosquito Anatomy

Like all true insects, mosquitoes have three major body parts: head, thorax and abdomen.

The head is the sensory center for the mosquito, where the compound eyes and antennae are located, as well as the proboscis used for feeding.

The thorax is composed of three body segments and each segment has one pair of legs.  As a member of the insect order Diptera, mosquitoes have one pair of wings, located on the middle segment. 

The abdomen is composed of ten body segments and hosts the insect's digestive, respiratory and reproductive systems.

Featured Video

2023 Annual Report Video 4:12
Back To Top