Skip to content
Government > County Commission > About Leon County
Government > County Commission > About Leon County

About Leon County

Leon County was named after the Spanish explorer, or conquistador, Juan Ponce de Leon. He was the first European to explore Florida in 1513 in search of the “Fountain of Youth” and named the state after the Spanish word for “flowery.”

Florida’s Capital County

Leon County is home to Florida’s capital, Tallahassee, which was established in 1824. Legislative and executive offices and the State House and Senate chambers are located here. As a political subdivision of the state, the County is guided by an elected, seven-member Board of County Commissioners.

Five members of the Board are elected to serve specific commission districts, and two members are elected at-large. Leon County is a Council-Manager form of government, and the County Administrator is appointed by the Board to oversee all functions, directives and policies. Florida Statutes, Chapter 125, establishes the powers and duties of the County Commission and the County Administrator. As of November 12, 2002, Leon County is governed by a Home Rule Charter.

Leon County Statistics

  • Population: 299,130
    • 33% unincorporated
    • 67% within city limits
  • Area (Square Miles): 702
  • Established: 1824
  • Charter Date: 2002
  • County Seat: Tallahassee
  • Districting: 5 Single Districts and 2 At-Large
  • Median Age: 27


Featured Video

2023 Annual Report Video 4:12
Back To Top