RESOLUTION: 14-32

RESOLUTION OF BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF LEON COUNTY, FLORIDA, SETTING FORTH APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS SUSAN CAPPENDIJK VAN ENGELEN, ANNE LONGMAN, AND JASON ROBOTHAM TO THE LEON COUNTY RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, in October of 1978, pursuant to the former Florida Statutes Sections 23.145, et. seq., the Charter of the Leon County Research and Development Authority was executed, creating said authority; and,

WHEREAS, in July of 1979, the new Part V, Chapter 159 of the Florida Statutes was enacted and became law, thereby setting forth the requirements for the creation, by Ordinance, of a Research and Development Authority by counties of the state, and empowering such authorities to issue revenue bonds or other such debt obligations to finance the construction of capital projects; and,

WHEREAS, in 1980, the Leon County Board of County Commissioners adopted Ordinance No., 80-68 confirming and creating the existence of the Leon County Research and Development Authority (said Ordinance being codified in Chapter 2 of the Code of Laws of Leon County at Section 2-57); and,

WHEREAS, Section 2-57 of the Code of Laws of Leon County requires that there shall be no less than five members of the Leon County Research and Development Authority, and Florida Statutes Section 159.703 sets forth the requirements that such five members shall be residents and electors of, or have their principal place of employment in, Leon County, Florida, and that, in addition to the other members, the president of each affiliated institution of higher education, or the president's designee, shall be a member of the authority and shall serve ex officio; and,

WHEREAS, Resolution 14-04, adopted by the Leon County Board of County Commissioners on April 8, 2014 sets forth a Leon County Research and Development Authority membership that includes six (6) members to be appointed by a majority vote of the Leon County Board of County Commissioners and by a duly enacted resolution of the Leon County Board of County Commissioners, to each serve a term of four years, and each representing a particular business/industry private sector, such as: (1) banking/finance; (2) real estate/development; (3) energy; (4) high performance materials; (5) bio technology/bio medical; and, (6) aerospace/aviation; and Resolution 14-04 further sets forth that a nominating committee, composed of the County Administrator or his designee, who shall act as the nominating committee's chairperson, the President of the Tallahassee/Leon County Economic Development Council, the Director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at Innovation Park, the President of the Capital City Chamber of Commerce, and the Director of the Florida State University /Florida A & M University College of Engineering, shall make recommendations to the Leon County Board of County Commissioners for appointment of such six members to the Leon County Research and Development Authority.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Leon County Board of County Commissioners as follows:

**Section 1.** That the Leon County Board of County Commissioners hereby appoints the following persons as new members of the Leon County Research and Development Authority for the terms set forth hereinbelow:

Name	Type	Begin Term	End Term
Cappendijk van	Four Years	October 1, 2014	September 30, 2018
Engelen, Susan			
Longman, Anne	Four Years	October 1, 2014	September 30, 2018
Robotham, Jason	Four Years	October 1, 2014	September 30, 2018

## Proposed, presented, and passed this 2<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2014.

LEON COUNTY, FLORIDA

LEON

By: Kristin Dozier, Chairman

Board of County Commissioners

ATTEST:

Bob Inzer, Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller, Leon County, Florida

By:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Office of the County Atterney

Leon County Florida

By: Herbert W. A. Thiele, Esq.

County Attorney