Skip Navigation

EIP Notice: Flood Warning issued December 3 at 9:13AM EST until December 5 at 1:00AM EST by NWS Tallahassee FL... More »

About Leon County

Leon County was named after the Spanish explorer, or conquistador, Juan Ponce de Leon. He was the first European to explore Florida in 1513 in search of the “Fountain of Youth” and named the state after the Spanish word for “flowery.”

Florida’s Capital County

Leon County is home to Florida’s capital, Tallahassee, which was established in 1824. Legislative and executive offices and the State House and Senate chambers are located here.

As a political subdivision of the state, the County is guided by an elected, seven-member Board of County Commissioners. Five members of the Board are elected to serve specific commission districts, and two members are elected at-large. The County Administrator is appointed by the Board to oversee all functions, directives and policies.

About Us

  • Population: 272,896
  • Area (Square Miles): 702
  • Charter Date: 2002
  • County Seat: Tallahassee
  • Districting: Mixed
  • Median Age: 30
Commission Meetings & Agendas

Anyone interested in obtaining a DVD of any Commission Meeting or Workshop should contact Board Secretary Rebecca Vause either via e-mail or by calling (850)606-4168. Each DVD costs $25.00, and will be available the day after the meeting or workshop. Once available, DVDs can either be mailed or picked up from the Leon County Clerk of Courts at 315 S. Calhoun St, Suite 450.